Being a Girl

 

The day she was born,

 They didn’t say ‘Congratulations! It’s a girl!’

Instead they spitted out. ‘Sorry, it’s a burden.’

………………….

A girl’s life blooms on a sorry

And she lives only by hanging on the same term.

She is made to curse her existence.

She dies saying ‘sorry for being a girl.’

…………

Consider it as a twist in tale or luck,

I’m also a girl, but not her.

…………….

Sorry. You can’t blame it on me.

I’m neither a pity girl nor Akon.

I’m not just a storm but a hurricane.

You think you’re the only player? Well, game’s on!

…………………

I’m Katniss, a mocking jay.

No princess or a rag doll.

I’m Elsa, the only queen.

Dear jury, you can back off.

…………….

Sorry. But I ain’t slut.

I’m not just my body

And I’ve been in love.

I’m guilty of being dumb.

Oh! Mistakes? Yes, I have made some.

…………………….

I’m sorry! for crying

Every time, I was meant to be.

I’m guilty for making you feel,

My emotions are my weaknesses.

………………

I feel guilty for not sitting

With my legs crossed and for laughing aloud.

I speak less and I listen more.

I’m not perfect, I have flaws.

…………..

Flaws, I don’t hide them with makeup.

Makeup, it’s not my necessity.

My necessity, it’s not an urge to be loved.

I apologize for not standing on your terms,

Terms that the so called tolerant society made,

Society that breeds murderers,

Murderers that rule the world,

World- that’s a man’s world.

………………………….

I’m sorry for being skinny.

For not listening when you body shame.

I don’t starve myself to be like this.

She’s fat , she’s abnormal. It’s all the same.

………………

Maybe these are not our miserable conditions or problems.

Maybe these are our choices and uniqueness!

……………..

I’m no Cinderella and prince charming doesn’t exist.

I know that.

I’m sorry I won’t leave even if the clock strikes twelve.

……………….

I would rather wear shoes than stupid glass heels.

Birds refuse to sing whenever I try to speak.

……………

Forgive me for having star struck eyes

And wings on my back.

As I dare to voice my opinion,

Which of course is a disrespect.

………………..

I bear the burden of having different anatomy.

You still can’t put the blame on me.

I’m not intolerant, characterless or a rebel.

Maybe, just an angel thrown in hell?

………..

I’m sorry monsters, for not generalizing men

On the basis of your frame.

I’m sorry as I, being a girl, is the reason and excuse

 for my own rape.

…………..

Sorry, but not sorry for being a girl.

………

Told you I’m Katniss.

This poem’s catching fire.

Heart’s full of madness.

Arrow shot to aim sapphire.

The rudes call it assassination.

But, I name it satire.

………..

Sorry for being who I am.

Is it too late now to say sorry?

………….

Sorry for being caring, defending and protecting as a mother.

Sorry for loving, hugging and kissing you as a girlfriend.

Sorry for being a sport and supporting sister.

Sorry for being a splendid friend.

………….

Sorry for pouring elixir in the murderers world.

Sorry for being rain in this desert.

Sorry, the wind is blowing fast.

My breath, it won’t last.

My words die as I speak.

For fueling stereotypes that are bleak.

I’m on my knees with heart on my sleeves.

But, wait. I’m no longer asking for apology.

Cause I’m not weak.

 Thanks for reading!

The theme was sorry. Plus I’m a huge hunger game fan. Apologies.

 

 

 


2 thoughts on “Being a Girl

Leave a comment